You are not logged in.

#1 2015-01-11 18:22:27

rianav
Member
From: Between keyboard and chair.
Registered: 2013-07-17
Posts: 18

freebsd-kernel-newcons version 10.1 ?

Hi,
 

  • I was wondering if the above mentioned package is available as version 10.1?

  • For now I can only run ArchBSD on AMD graphics. Using the regular kernel + ATI/Radeon to load a desktop is not working well, even after enabling "testing". I would like to see if using "newcons" is an improvement.

  • Or would trying my hand @ building a newer version of  "freebsd-kernel-newcons" be the way to go?

Thanks.

         Regards.


China gangs burn pork on Amtrak while San Diego SWAT busts ice pirates at Target.

Offline

#2 2015-01-13 20:17:36

rianav
Member
From: Between keyboard and chair.
Registered: 2013-07-17
Posts: 18

Re: freebsd-kernel-newcons version 10.1 ?

Just to follow up this query (I got this from a mailing list):

In both FreeBSD-CURRENT and stable/10 we can now switch between
syscons and vt at boot time, with sc as the default.  The console and
mode can be set via loader tunables:

syscons, text mode:
kern.vty=sc

vt(4), text mode:
kern.vty=vt
hw.vga.textmode=1

vt(4), graphics mode:
kern.vty=vt
hw.vga.textmode=0

It should be possible to start with hw.vga.textmode=1 and then have
i915kms take over once X starts, giving graphics-mode consoles from
that point on.

So it seems that the need for

newcons

enabled pkg is ended. I asked on absd irc channel.

Cheers!


China gangs burn pork on Amtrak while San Diego SWAT busts ice pirates at Target.

Offline

#3 2015-01-21 12:11:42

Amzo
Administrator
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 144

Re: freebsd-kernel-newcons version 10.1 ?

Nothing has been merged into core or extra for awhile. All updates have went into testing. Testing is what is frequently updated and you can use the new terminal driver with 10.1 in testing.

The merging process of testing -> core, extra, community is a little slow at the minute.


This is because libtool on FreeBSD is erratic at versioning. Our original packages didn't have the libtoolfix applied. So a slight update could see a library go from lib.so.1234 -> lib.so.4231

With the libtoolfix in place, this would be lib.so.0, lib.so.1 and so fourth.

So any package that is updated, or libtoolfixed will break all packages that depend on it and thus require rebuilding. Work is still goign on, but until these have all been rebuilt. (i think there is only 150 packages left) and once merged from testings.

The repos core, extra and community will see daily updates again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB